Skip to content ↓

Areas of Learning

In 2018, Professor Graham Donaldson published a report outlining plans for curriculum reform in Wales.


A central component of the reform was a switch from traditional subjects to six areas of learning and experiences (AOLEs). These are;

Mathematics and Numeracy

Languages, Literacy and Communication

Health and Well-being

Expressive Arts


Science and Technology


In the video below, our pupils explain what each AoLE looks like at our school.